• Types of Indian Passport

    There are three types of Indian Passport, which are:

    Regular Passport: this passport has a Navy Blue cover and is issued for ordinary travel, such as vacations and business trips
    Diplomatic Passport has a Maroon cover and is issued to Indian diplomats, top ranking government officials and diplomatic couriers.
    Official Passport has a White cover and it is issued to individuals representing the Indian government on official business

    To apply for a passport, you have to obtain an application form (External website that opens in a new window) from the Passport Office or the designated Speed Post Centers or any of the designated outlets in your city. Along with the duly filled application form, you have to submit proof of residence, date of birth, change of name, documents for ECNR, expired passport (if any), passport size photographs etc.

    All self-attested copies of certificates/documents would be checked against originals at the Passport Office at the time of submission of application. A Gazetted Officer should attest copies of certificates/documents sent by post. The normal time taken for issuance of a passport is five to six weeks. However in case of an emergency you can apply for a fresh or duplicate passport under the 'Tatkaal' scheme.

    The Tatkaal Scheme (External website that opens in a new window) allows passports to be issued on payment of additional fee over and above the normal passport application fee. The 'Tatkaal' Scheme would only be applicable in cases where either the police verification report is not required (minors less than 15 years of age) or where a passport can be issued on post police verification basis (duplicate passport/re-issue of passport without change in address, Government servants with NOC and their spouses and applications with Verification Certificates).


Leave a Reply